Early College High School

CCTL students work together in groups.

Early College High School

Mitchell Community College operates two early college high schools in partnership with local school systems and a four-year college through the support of the North Carolina New Schools. Early college provides motivated Iredell County students the opportunity to graduate from a five-year program with a high school diploma and up to two years of transferable college credit with no cost to the student for tuition or books. Students enroll in the Cooperative Innovative High School Pathway in the ninth grade through an admission process unique to each early college.


The Crossroads Arts & Science Early College High School (formerly VPAC) is a partnership of Mitchell Community College, Iredell-Statesville Schools and Catawba College. Crossroads students take their high school classes at Statesville High School and travel by shuttle to Mitchell Community College’s Statesville Campus for college classes.


The Collaborative College for Technology and Leadership (CCTL) is operated in partnership with Iredell-Statesville Schools and Mooresville Graded Schools. CCTL is located on the Statesville Campus of Mitchell Community College in historic downtown Statesville.


Frequently Asked Questions about Early College



Sharon Ellis, CCTL Early College Liaison
(704) 878-4361


Mamie Houston, Crossroads Early College Liaison
(704) 978-0034 x 1449 (Crossroads Office)
(704) 978-5483 (Statesville Campus)


Amanda Rhea, Director of Educational Partnerships
(704) 978-5441