Fulfilling Your Financial Obligations
You are responsible for any and all amounts due on your account.
Continuing Education students must pay all required course fees or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment at the time of registration for the course.
Students enrolled in courses for college credit must pay all tuition and fees in full, officially enroll in the Tuition Payment Plan (Fall and Spring semesters only), have pending financial aid showing on their account, or provide an authorization letter for sponsor payment by the payment deadlines published for each semester.
Past Due Accounts
Students enrolled in courses for college credit are considered to have a past due balance if a balance is still due on their account after the published payment deadline or on the last day of the academic semester for which the charges were incurred. This balance could have resulted from failure to adhere to the conditions of the Deferred Payment Plan, a reduction or revocation of financial aid, or a sponsor’s refusal to make payment, no matter the reason.
Consequences for failure to pay any past due balance in full
You may be unable to register for classes.
You may be unable to receive grades or official transcripts.
An overdue account may be turned over to the North Carolina Department of Revenue for collection.
An overdue account may be turned over to a state contracted collection agency where credit could be adversely affected.
Near the end of each semester, collection letters are mailed to students who have outstanding balances on their accounts. A second and final collection letter is mailed to students who still have past due accounts at the end of each semester. If no collection is made within 30 days of the second notice, The following will occur:
Any account over 60 days past due will be turned over to the NC Department of Revenue, Set-Off Debt Unit, to collect from your NC State Tax Refund until your account is paid in full. This is in accordance with G.S. Chapter 105A of the North Carolina General Statutes, Set-Off Debt Collection Act.
Any account over 60 days past due will be turned over to a state contracted collection agency. Students may find their credit is adversely affected.