Mitchell Community College is approved by the NC Real Estate Commission and the NC Appraisal Board to offer real estate and appraisal courses.
Due to COVID-19 restrictions in-person classes are on hold.
Please check back. We will add classes as soon as we receive permission.
Register Today Course descriptions are listed below the schedule.
A variety of elective courses are available online. Click here for online Real Estate elective courses.
Appraisal Continuing Education
All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees and certificate holders must complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 1 of every odd numbered year. As part of the 28 hours of continuing education, licensees must complete the seven-hour national Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). USPAP is updated every even numbered year, and each trainee, licensee and certificate holder has to take the most recent USPAP updated course prior to June 1 of every even numbered year. Mitchell offers both elective and USPAP courses to fulfill the requirements for appraisers who wish to renew their licenses on active status. Cost: $95
Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
This course is approved by the N.C. Real Estate Commission to satisfy the educational requirements for a Provisional Broker License. You will learn basic real estate principles, practices, license laws, rules and regulations of the NCREC in preparation for the state exam. The course is content intensive. Students should be competent in reading comprehension, solving math problems, and working on the computer. Students must attend at least 80 percent of class time and pass the class exam with a grade of 80. Upon successful completion, you will be eligible to take the North Carolina Real Estate Commission exam which is a requirement to become a licensed Provisional Broker. Purchase textbooks prior to start of class. Class Cost: $190 + Book.
Book Title: Modern Real Estate Practice in North Carolina 10E, ISBN 9781475486520.
To qualify for a real estate broker license in NC, you must:
Be at least 18 years of age.
Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law.
Have a social security number.
Satisfactorily complete a broker pre-licensing course with a minimum of 75 classroom hours at a North Carolina school approved by the NC Real Estate Commission. Mitchell Community College is an approved school, and courses are offered each semester.
Real Estate Post-Licensing Course
All new provisional brokers must satisfy the post-licensing education requirement. Until June 30, 2020, Provisional Brokers (PBs) must complete at least one Postlicensing course in each of the first three years following initial licensure in order to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage. Effective July 1, 2020, PBs must complete all 3 Postlicensing courses within 18 month of initial licensure to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage. Post-licensing education is divided into three 30-hour post-licensing courses titled as follows: Broker Relationships and Responsibilities, Contracts and Closing and NC Law, Rules & Legal Concepts. Cost: $195 + book
Real Estate Continuing Education
The NC Real Estate Commission’s continuing education requirement is eight hours per license period, including the mandatory Real Estate Update Course (four hours) plus one four-hour elective course. Brokers-in-Charge must complete a four-classroom-hour Broker-in-Charge Annual Review Course (BICAR) each full license period. The Update, BICAR, and various electives are offered at Mitchell Community College every spring. Various online real estate elective courses are available year-round. Topics include: Property Management, Reverse Mortgages, The Truth About Mold, and more. Cost: $55 per course